The Project Analyzer

Is this data centre good for your community?

Not all data centres are the same. This is a published standard for what a good one does for the place it lands — and a grade for every proposed Alberta project, with a plain sentence on what would have to change to move it up.

A resident who hears “a data centre is coming” should be able to open one page and know in a minute whether to relax, ask questions, or organise — and exactly which questions to ask. Every project is scored against the same twelve tests. Where the public record is silent, we say so: a proponent that will not disclose is not treated as a good neighbour.

Good

Score 80+, nothing below 2, no unknowns in Power or Water.

Needs work

Score 55–79, or any single criterion at 1.

Bad

Below 55, or a zero on water, power source, noise or transparency.

Not enough information

Fewer than 8 of 12 criteria have public evidence. Never blended into a grade.

The twelve tests, in four groups

Each test is scored 0 to 4 on published evidence, weighted by group. Every threshold and benchmark is sourced in the evidence file behind this page.

Power & grid

30%

1Where the electricity comes from

GoodBrings firm new supply or a signed curtailment deal, so it doesn't push residential rates or reliability.

BadTakes scarce grid capacity with no offset and no demand-response commitment.

~20 GW requested by 2031 vs. under 5 GW of proposed generation; only two projects hold allocations. Ireland is reported to now refuse connections over 10 MVA without full on-site dispatchable supply — reported, not yet verified against the regulator's decision.

2Carbon intensity of that supply

GoodStated fuel and CUE, with offsets that are contracted rather than aspirational.

Bad“Gas and geothermal” with no technical document behind it.

Every Alberta bring-your-own-power project so far is natural gas.

3Grid citizenship

GoodWilling to curtail at peak, join demand response, share interconnection cost, and publish load data.

BadWants grid load with nothing behind it and no willingness to curtail.

Only two Alberta projects hold grid allocations against roughly 20 GW requested.

Water & cooling

25%

4Cooling technology

GoodClosed-loop, dry or liquid cooling with a published WUE; near-zero consumptive water at full build.

BadEvaporative cooling on a licensed river or aquifer draw in a closed or stressed basin.

Meta Sturgeon: zero operational cooling water. EU pact ceiling 0.4 L/kWh in stressed areas; only 5 of 34 active Alberta projects publish any water figure.

5Water source & licence

GoodSource named, basin status known, licence in the proponent's own name, consumptive number per MW published.

BadA licence held by someone else, or no consumptive number at all.

Wonder Valley's water licence is held by the municipality, not the proponent.

6Backup generation & air

GoodTier 4 or equivalent, permitted run hours and fleet size stated, emissions controls in place.

BadA backup fleet larger than the prime plant.

Virginia averages 54 diesel units per site. Olds was reported to propose 1.8 GW of backup diesel, exceeding its prime plant — reported, not yet verified against a filing.

Site & neighbours

25%

7Siting

GoodExisting heavy-industrial land near transmission.

BadFarmland conversion, floodplain, or homes within earshot.

Olds refused on siting; Rocky View refused on farmland; Meta's site was already heavy-industrial.

8Noise

GoodA pre-development model at the nearest homes, an enforceable limit, and a low-frequency metric.

BadA perimeter number offered instead of a number at the nearest home.

AUC Rule 012 sets a 40 dBA Leq nighttime *basic* sound level, which is then adjusted to a permissible level by dwelling category and density — it is not a flat 40 dBA cap, and we have not yet opened the rule itself, so we do not score against a number. What we do score is whether a receptor model exists at all. Wonder Valley offered “around 55 decibels” at the perimeter — a perimeter figure is not a measurement at the nearest home.

9Heat, waste & land after

GoodA heat-reuse commitment and a decommissioning plan with a bond.

BadNothing said about reuse, end-of-life, or reclamation.

No Alberta project commits to heat reuse; Alberta has no data-centre reclamation requirement.

Community deal & honesty

20%

10Jobs, truthfully stated

GoodBoth construction and permanent numbers stated, matching what comparable facilities actually employ, with local-hire commitments.

BadA press-release jobs figure with no permanent number.

Greenlight: $4.6B for 30 permanent jobs; Meta: 300+ permanent, ~$60M in roads and water.

11Tax & community benefit

GoodAssessment contributions net of abatement disclosed, plus a signed community benefit agreement.

BadNo net contribution shown and no signed benefit agreement.

Sturgeon County requires annual public reporting; Meta committed ~$60M in local infrastructure.

12Transparency & consultation

GoodPublic filings and numbers on the record, open houses before rezoning, written answers, a named accountable person, Indigenous consultation above Level 1.

BadBooths and soft language, NDAs, a licence held by someone else.

The EU is reported to require PUE/WUE/ERF/REF reporting by regulation — reported, not yet verified. Verified: Wonder Valley's water licence is held by the municipality, not the proponent.

Alberta’s proposed projects, graded

These grades are provisional. They are drafts, scored from the public record only, and are being sent to each proponent for right of reply before publication — every grade changes when a proponent supplies what is missing. Three underlying sources are still being verified. Grades are opinions built on stated facts, and they say so.

Needs work · high B

Meta Sturgeon

1 GW · Sturgeon County

  • Closed-loop dry cooling, no operational cooling water
  • Brings its own supply (Greenlight gas + an AESO allocation)
  • Heavy-industrial land, 300+ permanent jobs, ~$60M local infrastructure
What would move it up

Publish design and measured PUE and WUE (including the Greenlight plant's own cooling water), a noise model at the nearest homes, a heat-reuse commitment, and a decommissioning bond. Gas supply caps the carbon score.

Bad · D · not enough info on 5 of 12

Wonder Valley

up to 9 GW · Greenview

  • Off-grid gas with an unverified geothermal claim; exempt from provincial environmental assessment
  • Water licence held by the municipality, not the proponent — an existing licence for 6M m³/yr plus a preliminary certificate for up to 24M m³/yr still under review; the two are different instruments and neither should be quoted alone
  • “55 dB at the perimeter” with no receptor model; Level 1 Indigenous consultation; no jobs figure
What would move it up

Volunteer a full environmental assessment; put the licence and a published consumptive number per MW in the proponent's name; commit to closed-loop cooling in writing; model noise at the nearest homes with an enforceable limit; raise Indigenous consultation and answer in writing; publish jobs and a decommissioning plan.

Needs work · C

Greenlight Electricity Centre

932 MW gas · for Meta

  • AUC-approved, in service 2030
  • $4.6B for 30 permanent jobs, stated honestly
  • Plant cooling type and water use not stated
What would move it up

Publish the plant's cooling method and water use, and a heat-reuse or carbon-capture commitment.

Not enough information

Keephills Phase I

230 MW · Parkland County

  • Holds an AESO allocation at an existing gas site — the second-scarcest thing in Alberta
  • Nothing public on cooling, water, noise, jobs or benefit
What would move it up

Disclose the basics. This one could grade well quickly because the site is already industrial.

Bad · F · refused

Synapse Olds

1.4 GW · refused by the AUC, 2026-08-17

  • The AUC found the site unsuitable and too close to the community (decision 2026-08-17; we have not opened the decision itself)
  • Reported at 1.8 GW of backup diesel, exceeding the 1.4 GW prime plant — reported, not yet verified against a filing
  • Reported 900+ parties granted standing — not yet verified
What would move it up

A different site. Note the fuller sequence: the AUC closed a first application in March 2026 over errors and incomplete information, rejected the second in August 2026 on siting.

Bad · F · refused

Kineticor Rocky View

refused by council 6–1, 2025-09-09

  • 448 hectares (~1,107 acres) of farmland; council refused the Area Structure Plan 6–1 on 2025-09-09
  • Reported to have drawn potable water from the county treatment plant — reported, not yet verified
  • Reported 50+ speakers against and 4 in favour over a 10-hour hearing — not yet verified
What would move it up

Industrial land and a non-potable, closed-loop water plan. The county said it would still pursue data centres at better-suited sites, then on July 21, 2026 voted 5–2 for a moratorium on new applications until its sector strategy and regulatory framework are complete.

Not enough information · leaning B

eStruxture CAL-3

90 MW · Rocky View County

  • Small by today's standards, grid-connected, under construction; reported as Tier III — reported, not yet verified
  • No recorded opposition
  • Cooling, water and noise not stated
What would move it up

Publish cooling type, WUE and a noise model. Tier III says nothing about water or noise.

Not enough information

Beacon Heartland

800 MW · Sturgeon County

  • Permits issued, on-site thermal plant, federal assessment declined
  • Cooling, water, jobs and benefit all blank
  • Five sister sites in the same state
What would move it up

Disclose the basics for all six sites and adopt Sturgeon County's annual reporting on every one.

Needs work · B

AHI Red Deer County

10 MW · waterless

  • Waterless design, self-generated power
  • Five to seven permanent jobs, stated honestly
  • 22 homes within 2 km raised noise; the model and receptors were not published
What would move it up

Publish the sound model at the 22 homes with an enforceable limit, and state the generation fuel and backup plan.

Two operating bitcoin sites (Hut 8 Medicine Hat, Drumheller) and the legacy Calgary and Edmonton colocation halls are shown elsewhere as context, not graded — they are the “old normal” a resident has already lived beside. See every project on the tracker; the tests trace back to the concerns and their sources.

Graded below Good?

Every project below Good comes with a fix list — the specific changes, ordered by how many points each is worth, each with a precedent where another project made that change. The standard is public and free. Closing the gap is where we can help.

Right of reply is open to every proponent before a grade publishes, and every correction is logged in public.